What are the 4Cs of a diamond?

GIA diamonds are known for diamonds that are graded by GIA, the creator of the 4Cs and the independence of diamond authority. Each diamond is unique and is a miracle of time, place and change. And each has specific qualities that establish its value.

“GIA certified diamond” is a misnomer. The 4Cs of Diamond Quality is the universal method for assessing the quality of any diamond, anywhere in the world. The creation of the Diamond 4Cs meant two very important things, diamond quality could be communicated in a universal language, and diamond customers could now know exactly what they were about to purchase.

For most gem-grade diamonds, the color criteria depend on how colorless they are. A diamond that is chemically free and well-structured is like a pure drop of water, colorless and of higher value. GIA created a D-to-Z diamond color grading system to identify the colorlessness of diamonds by matching them to color-coded stones under precisely controlled lighting and observational conditions.Although the color differences between diamonds are so subtle that non-professionals can’t tell, they can result in significant differences in diamond quality and price.

Clarity – Measure the size, size, and location of diamond inclusions and surface imperfections. Clarity grades range from “immaculate” (no defects) to “instituted” (with a big of defects).

Flawless(FL) – viewed under a 10x magnifying glass, diamonds do not have any inclusions or surface features. Internal flawless(IF) – viewed under a 10x magnifying glass with no visible inclusions. Very slight inclusion(VVS1 & VVS2) – is observed under a 10x magnifying glass and has very small inclusions inside the diamond that are difficult for even professional experts to see. Slight inclusion (VS1 & VS2) – viewed under a 10x magnifying glass and tiny inclusions can be seen inside the diamond. Micro-embedded (SI1 and SI2) – viewed under a 10x magnifying glass and diamonds have visible inclusions.

Inclusion (I1, I2 & I3) – The inclusions of the diamond are visible under the 10x magnifying glass and may affect the transparency and brightness of the diamond.

Cut – Not the shape of a diamond, but the proportion and arrangement of the cut and the quality of the process of a diamond facet. The brightness, flickering, and fire of a diamond are determined by cutting. The cut levels range from “excellent” to “poor”.

Carat – Refers to the weight of a diamond. In general, the larger the carat weight, the more expensive the diamond is. However, if the carats of two diamonds are the same weight, the quality grade and price of the other three diamonds (color, clarity, and cut) may vary considerably. Diamonds with GIA certificates are more expensive than diamonds with other certificates because GIA certificates are more expensive to identify. From liquidity to credibility, people generally believe in the results of this standard-setting body’s appraisal.

When you visit Venus Tears, we offer you a wide range of choices for your ideal diamond. We can narrow down your diamond search to the ”One” that you are looking for.

Check out our website: https://venus-tears.sg/reserve
Staff Blog: https://venus-tears.sg/blog/
Follow us on Facebook:https://www.facebook.com/VenusTears.jp/
Follow us on Instagram: https://instagram.com/venustears

All VENUS TEARS bridal store locations are shown below:

10 Tampines Central 1, Tampines One #01-35
Tel: 6481-2042

Wisma Atria Outlet
435 Orchard Road, #B1-28 Wisma Atria,
Singapore 238877
Tel: 6694-1663

Bugis Junction Outlet
Bugis Junction #01-22/22A, 200 Victoria Street,
Singapore 188021
Tel: 6250-9962

Jem Outlet
50 Jurong Gateway Road, JEM #01-54,
Tel: 6659-6100